How Do Permissions Work?

Permissions are used to control the databases, locations and type of access that users have in the account.

Database permissions can be assigned at the database level and at the location level. Permissions assigned at the database level, apply to all locations within the database. Location level permissions are applied to only the specific location(s) that are checked. The default is to View/Edit all.

There are two types of permissions that users can be given:

  1. View or Read Only: This permission gives the user READ ONLY permissions to the locations or databases they have been assigned.
  2. View and Edit: This permission gives the user view and edit permissions to make changes in the locations or databases they have been assigned

Permission guidelines

  1. To assign permission to the ENTIRE database, check the appropriate permission box at the database level.
  2. To assign permissions to specific location within a database, choose to show all locations. Then ensure the check box at the database level is checked or not checked depending on the level of permission for the individual user. When there is at least one view only box checked, the check box for the database should be marked by a circle.
  3. You can assign permission to a database, but none of the locations within the database by checking the permission at the database level. Click to show all databases. Click the checkbox in the database you want to give permission for. Next, uncheck all location level permissions. This permission will allow the user to access the database and create a location without having access to the previously existing locations, if you grant them the View and Edit permission at the database level only. (see example below)

edit_user.png


Can't find the right answer?

  • Contact our support team and we will personally get back to you as fast as we can.